Glass for journalists, now that’s an Extra!

Last week, we held our first news conference at work since I became a Glass Explorer. While I was busy with my usual duties, I also took a little time to use Glass and chat with some reporters about it.

I shot a couple of pictures of the event, later editing and using them in a Google Plus post on my personal account and tagging the work account I manage.

20140109_133201_857

20140109_133441_935The pictures were of decent quality, although Glass’ very wide lens came into play more than I liked. Usually it’s a nice feature because you don’t have to worry about cutting something out of the frame inadvertently. In this case, though, I felt like getting any closer to shoot a picture would have taken me out of my support role and turned me into a distraction instead.

More interesting were the conversations I had with a few reporters. A couple scoffed, one even burst out laughing when he saw me. I also ended up with my picture on Twitter when a reporter posted it simply because I was wearing Glass. (The reporter took the shot and posted it with a mobile phone without my knowledge or consent. I don’t care, I just point that out for the people freaking out about privacy concerns due to Glass. Privacy in a public place was an issue long before Glass.)

More rewarding were the thoughtful and visionary discussions about the potential uses for Glass by reporters. Pictures and video shot from a first-person level and perspective could prove helpful with reports. And using Glass’ connectivity for research and documentation makes me think my days as a reporter were more in the Stone Age than the 1990s.

Conducting interviews with Glass could prove easier and better, too. Sure, it’s so new that it may be distracting at first for some subjects. But before long, it could prove to be a better option than a clunky  camera on your shoulder or on an intrusive tripod.

Glass needs to evolve more to handle difficult lighting situations before the photo and video quality will be fully accepted by editors and news directors. Battery life, especially when doing a lot of pictures or video, would also be an issue for enterprising reporters who used the device frequently while out of the office. But in the right place at the right time, Glass can already provide a true Extra! for creative journalists in its present form.

Once again, it appears Star Trek was ahead of its time:

fns-news-bulletin

What do you think? Please let everyone know!

