“Your Chance to Buy Google Glass”

google glass

I don’t remember how I stumbled upon it, but a few months back I found the Google Glass Explorers page where you could sign up for an invitation to purchase Google Glass. I filled everything out and, basically, forgot about it. I never thought I’d be selected because it’s just not what happens for me. I’m never lucky in that sense.

But then on Dec. 2 I received an email totally out of the blue with the subject line, “Your Chance to Buy Google Glass.” Upon opening and comprehending that my chance had actually materialized, I told my wife, who celebrated with me until she heard about the price tag of $1,500.

That’s a big chunk of change for anyone to lay out and the only reason I was able to is because I had some money put away from a very small inheritance that I was keeping for “something, some day.” Well, with the Glass invitation expiring after only seven days, that “some day” was upon me and that “something” was Glass.

I still had to convince my wife that it was a good idea, showing her the device’s potential and how exciting it would be to participate as an early explorer. Also, it doesn’t hurt that she has two expensive hobbies. A little give and take on that kind of thing in a marriage doesn’t hurt, I suppose, especially when you do the research ahead of time and point out how much each of her hobbies has received from our joint bank account over the past couple of years!  🙂

Devious on my part? Perhaps a little, but when she tried to smother me with a couch pillow, she was laughing, and not in an evil way, which was a relief.

The ordering process was extremely easy, particularly since I have a credit card connected to my Google Wallet, and of course Google knows that. I had to choose between one of four colors — charcoal, tangerine, shale, cotton and sky. That would be dark gray, orange, light gray, white and bright blue, for those of you not familiar with marketing-speak colors. I almost went for tangerine, since I figured that if I’m going to stick out by wearing this thing, why not go all out? For reference, it wouldn’t be the first time, since I own a bright orange Volkswagen like the one pictured below.

vw_specials_09

But my wife pointed out it might be a bit too garish and we couldn’t be certain what the “tangerine” shade would actually look like in real life compared to what we were seeing on our computer screen. The white and bright blue were too bright, the charcoal seemed too dark — so that made shale just right.

shale glass

 

So now I’ve spent the first few hours as a Google Glass Explorer just waiting for the darn thing to arrive.

They said it could take a week.

In the meantime, I cleaned up my main blog pages and tidied things up to make this category page that allows people like you to bookmark the link and focus on just the Glass entries from Here Comes Later.

It’s been almost five hours since I received my order confirmation, but who is counting? Sigh. It’s going to be a long week, indeed.

What do you think? Please let everyone know!

