The Honorable Congressman Spammer

US CapitolAs politicians start learning to use social media, there’s no doubt they’ll stumble occasionally as they try to connect with the people. I usually cut folks a lot of slack when it comes to this kind of thing because, after all, we should be encouraging folks to get involved in social media and not berate them if they make a mistake, right?

So, if I write a post about blog spamming from a congressman I shouldn’t name names, right? Or maybe I should?

If I don’t say specifically which congressman spammed me via a blog comment, then aren’t I incriminating all of them? And, technically, it’s a press secretary who did the spamming, not the congressman himself. Of course, when I worked for a state senator as a press secretary, everything I said and did was considered a reflection upon him and I was always careful to keep that in mind — that I wasn’t speaking for Ari Adler, I was speaking for the senator.

It’s an interesting dilemma, about whether to call someone out or not. One of the risks we run these days with living our lives out in the open is that we are living our lives out in the open, for everyone to see. Our triumphs, our failures, the things we have done and the things others have done to us — they are all there on Google.

So, I leave you with this question: do I publicly call out The Honorable Congressman Spammer or not? Please cast your vote here.

2 comments on “The Honorable Congressman Spammer

  1. Pingback: The Honorable Congressman Spammer

  2. Pingback: The Honorable Congressman Spammer, Chapter 2 | Digital Pivot

What do you think? Please let everyone know!

