Tag, I’m it

I’ve been tagged, thanks to Anna Hill, a person who truly represents how small this world is to me and others to whom I explain blogging, Twitter, etc.

You can learn more about Anna at her blog. She and I have never met, in person. We’ve become sort of pen pals in the modern sense of the word. We rarely write directly to each other, but we have had a number of conversations on Twitter and we tend to read each other’s blogs regularly. What makes the small world thing work is that Anna lives in the UK and I live in the states. The Atlantic Ocean has never seemed like such a tiny pond.

Anyway, Anna selected me to be tagged in a current blog trend in which you are asked to write six things about yourself that your readers may not know. Then, after you opened up and shared something personal, you tag six more people and hopefully they do the same thing. Anna said her reaction was mixed when first tagged, and mine was, too. Initially I thought it was a bit like the old-fashioned chain letters, except there was no threat of great personal loss if I didn’t tag other people. Then I thought it was cool to be counted among Anna’s friends that she tagged. Then I was a bit flustered, trying to figure out what I could share that people would even care about and worried that people I tagged would be upset with me.

So, I’ve decided to land in the middle somewhere and share things about me, but not tag other people. Hopefully, Anna will understand.

So, six things about me, if you care to know — and they’re in no particular order:

1. I was born in Atlanta, Georgia and have moved around more than any person I know outside of my family. Due to job changes and miscellaneous circumstances, my parents often packed up the family and headed off to new homes, new cities and even new states. I’ve lived in Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Wisconsin and Michigan. Maybe there were more from when I was too young to notice. I’m not really sure.

2. I’m a first-generation American born citizen on my father’s side of the family and only second generation on my mother’s side. My dad came over from Czechoslovakia after WWII and my maternal grandfather emigrated from Greece.

3. One of my favorite hobbies is driving off-road in my Jeep Wrangler. It was a childhood dream to own a “real Jeep,” and on sunny days in the summer, you’ll often find me tooling around in the Jeep with the top down and the doors off. I’ve gotten proficient enough to be a trail guide at Camp Jeep.

4. I’m a recovering work-a-holic. I used to think this only pertained to work at my job, and I’ve gotten much better about that. I’ve recently discovered that those tendencies can be a problem when dealing with blogging, home maintenance, lawn maintenance, car maintenance — that’s why I’m “recovering” and not “recovered.”

5. I gave up drinking alcohol a few years ago. No, I didn’t “have a problem,” as many people suddenly think when I tell them this. I just did it on a whim one New Year’s Eve and since then I’ve lost the taste for it — but I’ve also gained the money I used to spend on hooch. Not a bad trade-off if you ask me.

6. I was a bit of a local celebrity in Grand Rapids, Michigan back around 2000 when I was overseeing some public relations efforts for the state Department of Transportation. We were reconstructing the US-131 S-Curve that runs through downtown and I was on TV so much that the local NBC affiliate did a profile piece about me for an evening newscast. I still have multiple copies — I think that was my proverbial “15 minutes of fame.”

So, there you have it. If you continued reading to this point, thanks, I’m honored.

Now, it’s off to do some various types of work. This recovery stuff is tough to pull off.

    3 comments on “Tag, I’m it

    1. Okay, so the admission of recovering workaholism wasn’t a shocker, but I never would have taken you for an off-roader. Interesting.

      Thanks, Anna for tagging Ari. This was a fun Sunday morning read.

      Like

    2. I liked this blog too. I think many of us suffer from workaholism too. It’s one thing I’ve learned in moving to a new country. Our American instinct to over do, make things faster and better isn’t necessarily so.

      Like

    3. Thanks for following up on the ‘tagging’ post, I enjoyed it very much.
      It’s so true, the world does seem such a small place now. Although Robin may not agree when frequently on transatlantic flights….
      I certainly understand about not tagging 6 more people. I nearly reached the same conclusion myself, but thankfully I didn’t, otherwise we wouldn’t have had this post!

      Like

    What do you think? Please let everyone know!

    