Why 5Ws?

I’m Ari B. Adler, a journalist by training and a media relations professional by experience.

Why did I name this personal venture into the blogging world 5Ws? It refers to the 5 Ws of journalism: Who, What, Where, When and Why.

It’s a major part of what I have done as a journalist, what I do now at my night job as a journalism instructor, and how I structure much of the activities in my day job as a full-time media relations professional based in Michigan. The 5Ws help me do my jobs better, which helps me pay the mortgage and enjoy life.

Plus, it’s a solid reminder for when I’m writing a blog entry. If those five Ws are answered for my readers, then the post is complete and it probably doesn’t need more. After all, you’re busy and so am I.

See? Now you know who I am, what I do, where I do it, when I do it and why I’m doing it. And that’s all you need — for now.

###

One comment on “Why 5Ws?

What do you think? Please let everyone know!

